
What are the Second Edition Rules? Do I have them? 
The Second Edition Rules clarify some vague points in the earlier rules and improve the game in 
some minor ways. You can tell immediately whether you have the updated rules; there's a small 
box in the lower right corner of the 2nd edition rules book that states "Second Edition Rules." If that 
box isn't there, you have the older rules. Everything in this FAQ refers to the Second Edition Rules. 

What's the difference between a turn and a round? 
A turn is the six steps a player goes through (Weapons Development/Purchase Units, Combat 
Movement, Combat, Non-Combat Movement, Place New Units and Collect Income). A round is 
one complete cycle of all five players' turns, beginning with the Soviet Union and ending with the 
U.S. 

After everything is set up at the game's start, there are only four additional industrial 
complexes left over. Can more than that be built? 
No. Once four new industrial complexes are brought into play, no more can be built. 

Why doesn't the game's starting setup let you recreate Pearl Harbor? 
The game begins in the spring of 1942, several months after the attack on Pearl Harbor, which 
happened on December 7, 1941. That's why no battleships are set up at Hawaii; they've already 
been sunk or damaged. 

Can my AA guns fire during combat? 
No. AA guns fire only during enemy combat movement. 

I want to support my amphibious assault with that big 4-rated gunfire from a battleship, but 
the enemy has ships in the sea zone. Can I hold my battleship back from the naval battle so 
that it can take part in the amphibious landing instead? 
No. The battleship must fight in the sea battle and then it's not eligible to support the landing. 
Fighters and bombers have a choice; battleships don't. 

Can anything retreat from an amphibious assault? 
No. An amphibious assault is a fight to the death for every unit involved, both attacking and 
defending. All attackers, however, can retreat from a naval battle that precedes an amphibious 
assault. 

Where can aircraft land? 
You can land your aircraft in any territory that was controlled by you or one of your allies at the 
start of your turn. You can also land fighters on an aircraft carrier, provided it belongs to you or one 
of your allies and it doesn't already have two fighters on it. In both cases, the landing spot must be 
within the aircraft's remaining movement allotment. It's a good idea to move carriers before landing 
any fighters on them, so that you can't accidentally move the fighters again after they land. 

If my fighters are on an ally's carrier, when do they move and fight? 
Your fighters move along with the carrier when it moves. They can't fly out to attack on your ally's 
turn, but they fight normally if the carrier's sea zone is attacked. If the carrier moves into an enemy 
sea zone to attack, however, your fighters can't be part of the attack but they can be taken as 
losses, if you agree to sacrifice them. 

Can I have more stacks of bombers (or battleships, or whatever) than there are bomber 
pieces? If so, how would I mark them? 
Marking them isn't a problem because you can't have them in the first place. The number of 
playing pieces is a limit on how many forces can be in play. No one, for example, can have more 
than three bomber forces, or more than two carrier groups. The only exception to this absolute limit 
is chips; if you run out of chips you can use anything else as a substitute: pennies, beads, slips of 
paper, or whatever works for your game. 



Note that this applies throughout the entire turn. A stack of six bombers can't split up into more 
than three groups when they fly out to attack. 

When subs withdraw from combat, where can they go? 
If the subs were attacking, they can withdraw to any adjacent sea zone that naval units came from 
when launching this attack. 
If the subs are defending, the rules state they can withdraw to any friendly or unoccupied adjacent 
sea zone. Ultimately, both of these amount to the same thing; any sea zone that does not contain 
enemy naval vessels or aircraft at the time the subs withdraw. That last bit is very important 
because it means defending subs can withdraw into sea zones that the attacking forces came 
from, thus cutting off the attacker's avenue of retreat. As long as there are no enemy units currently 
in a sea zone, it's a legal withdrawal path for defending subs. (Units on an island don't matter; 
they're in a land territory, not in the sea zone.) 

Can a transport unload two infantry into two different territories? 
Yes, but only during noncombat movement. Both territories need to be adjacent to the same sea 
zone. 

The Allies seem to win a lot. Is the game well balanced? 
A lot of players feel that the Allies win too often -- although in our view, any Axis victory is one too 
many. :) 
Much of this arises from how people play the game. Most players are interested only in whether 
the Axis or the Allies win the war. When the Allies cooperate fully, their industrial advantage is 
tough for the Axis to overcome. 
Playing with the individual victory conditions goes a long way toward restoring the balance 
because the Allies won't cooperate quite as freely. For example, England won't be as eager to 
send fighters to Karelia if those fighters, besides contributing to the defeat of Germany, also 
contribute to the Soviet Union's eventual victory and domination over postwar Europe. We 
recommend using the individual victory conditions. A small dose of distrust and skepticism goes a 
long way. 

Are there other ways to adjust the game's balance besides using the individual victory 
conditions? 
There are three optional rules that swing the game's balance toward the Axis. We recommend 
trying them one at a time to see which you like best. Using more than one in the same game tends 
to shift the balance too much in favor of the Axis. 
1) Allow Germany to have Jet Power and Japan to have Super Subs at the start of the game. 
2) Do not allow the USSR to make any attacks until its second turn (this is a popular rule at 
tournaments). 
3) Play with only the original eight industrial complexes; no new ones can be built. (Some players 
feel this rule hurts Japan more than any of the Allies, but it's really a question of playing style.) 

 


